IBEC researcher wins international electrochemistry prize

isma_smSenior researcher Ismael Diez has won an award from the International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE).

The Nanoprobes and Nanoswitches group member is this year’s recipient of the Jaroslav Heyrovsky Prize for Molecular Electrochemistry, which is named after the Czech chemist, inventor and 1959 Nobel Prize winner.

“I’m really happy to have my work recognised by this award, because although I’ve won prizes from the ISE before, this one is for my independent contributions as a senior scientist,” says Ismael, who’s also an assistant professor at the University of Barcelona.

Read more…

“What makes me even more proud is that the previous recipients of the Jaroslav Heyrovsky Prize have been well-established full professors, so it’s a real honour to be selected.”

The ISE is based in Lausanne, Switzerland, and has amassed more than 3000 members since its foundation in 1949. Ismael will receive his award at the society’s 68th Annual Meeting in Rhode Island next August.